Kınalıada is one of the smallest of the Istanbul Princes’ Islands. It is 1500X1100 kilometers in size. Kınalıada got its name because of its red appearance when it was covered with maquis. It has three hills: Çınar Hill, Teşvikiye Hill and Manastır Hill.
Kınalıada has no woodland due to its being very rocky. It is known that in the Byzantine period, stones were brought from the rocks here for the construction of the walls. The land has deteriorated due to the stones extracted from the island. The most striking feature on the island is the large radio and television antennas on Çınar Hill.
The island is much quieter than the other islands since it did not have water and electricity in the past. Elektrik came to the island in 1946. Kınalıada, which previously managed with tankers and transportation water, was able to escape the thirst in 1981. The first inhabitants of the island are the Armenians. In fact, it is known as an island inhabited by Armenians during the Ottoman period.
In 1846, after the boat started to operate in the Islands, there were also Greeks and Turks who settled on the island. The population of Kınalıada has not exceeded a few hundred for many years. Later, the winter population increased to 2000 with new settlements. Summer population is around 20-30 thousand.